CERN home pageCERN home pageDocuments by ReferenceDocuments by ReferenceCNLsCNLsYear 2000Year 2000Help, Info about this page
Previous:Editorial
Next:What our Users Have to Say ...
 (See printing version)



If you need Help

FRONT LINE Services
Phone Location E-mail Address
Computing Help Desk 78888 513/R-052 Helpdesk@cern.ch
Opening hours: 8:30-17:30 (Monday-Friday)
Satellite Helpdesk@B1: Mondays-Friday 8:30-12:30
Administrative Applications (EDH, BHT, etc.) 79933 5/R-021 Ais.Support@cern.ch
Opening hours: 8.30-12:30 and 13:30-17.30
Central Computer Operators 75011 513/R-049 Computer.Operations@cern.ch
(24/24 hours on call)
General Network Operational Problems 74927 Network.Support@cern.ch
 
Contacts at CERN
The "Computing Help Desk" is the recommended central point for help on all computer-related issues. Following is a non-exhaustive list of individual people responsible or assigned to a given service. If you do not find a pointer to the service you need, then contact the "Computing Help Desk" for submitting your request. For all the services listed below please use the generic electronic mail address whenever possible. These mailboxes will be read even when the usual specialist is absent. It is helpful to use relevant keywords in the subject field of your message. Contact specialists directly only for very urgent cases or for very general consultations. Please note:
Service Definition Name E-mail Address
USER SUPPORT
User Relations and Service Manager M.Marquina User.Support@cern.ch
Help Desk Manager R.Woolnough User.Support@cern.ch
User Registration M.C.Perler User.Registration@cern.ch
Accounting Service A.Koppanyi User.Registration@cern.ch
Computing Bookshop J.Megies Bookshop@cern.ch
CENTRAL COMPUTERS
Public Services (PLUS batch&interactive services and CSF/PCSF Simulation farms)
See the complete and up-to-date list of contacts at URL:
http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/pdp/is/main/experiments.html#PUBSERV
SHIFT (Reconstruction & Analysis Clusters) T.Smith Tim.Smith@cern.ch
CORE Operations M.Vergari Mario.Vergari@cern.ch
Work Group Servers T.Smith Tim.Smith@cern.ch
Support for Experiments
See the complete and up-to-date list of contacts at URL:
http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/pdp/is/main/experiments.html
Distributed File Services (incl. AFS) Afs.Support@cern.ch
NAP and Parallel Applications E.Mcintosh Eric.Mcintosh@cern.ch
Tape Allocations and Vault Space R.Minchin Richard.Minchin@cern.ch
Stager, tapes and TMS support Tape.Support@cern.ch
Central Data Recording (CDR) Cdr.Support@cern.ch
CASTOR HSM software castor-support@cern.ch
HPSS Services Hpss.Support@cern.ch
Oracle Databases N.Segura Oracle.Support@cern.ch
CERN-wide Print Service J.L.Vosdey Printer.Support@cern.ch
DESKTOP COMPUTING
NICE (Networked PCs) F.Hemmer Nice.Support@cern.ch
PC Desktop (Repairs and Sales) C.Ball PC.Admin@cern.ch
MACintosh Support F. Ovett Mac.Support@cern.ch
MACintosh Sales W.Hug Waltraud.Hug@cern.ch
X Terminals Support Xterminal.Support@cern.ch
ASIS Support Asis.Support@cern.ch
Operating System Support:
HP 700 s/w: Hp.Support@cern.ch SUN s/w: Sun.Support@cern.ch
Solaris s/w: Solaris.Support@cern.ch RS/6000 s/w: Aix.Support@cern.ch
Digital Unix s/w: Dunix.Support@cern.ch Linux: Linux.Support@cern.ch
SCIENTIFIC APPLICATIONS & SOFTWARE ENGINEERING
PaRC Service (Engineering Cluster) Parc.Support@cern.ch
CERN Program Library L.Besson Heplib.Support@cern.ch
PAW Support O.Couet Paw.Support@cern.ch
Anaphe and GEANT Heplib.Support@cern.ch
Objectivity DB Service Objectivity.Support@cern.ch
Software Development Tools SDT.Support@cern.ch
Adobe FrameMaker Docsys.Support@cern.ch
COMPUTING FOR ENGINEERING
All comments, problem reports, and suggestions can be reported via the "Feedback" Web form
accessible from the IT-CE Home page (link "Feedback" on the left).
COMMUNICATIONS AND NETWORKS
The complete and up-to-date list of contacts is in the "Communications Systems Group" Home page,
at URL: http://network.cern.ch
INTERNET SERVICES
Web Services Www.Support@cern.ch
Mail Support Mail.Support@cern.ch
In addition to this generic address, the normal support lines are listed at URL:
http://consult.cern.ch/service/mail/problems/contacts.html
COMPUTER SECURITY
Computer Security Information Computer.Security@cern.ch
Security Alert Reports cert@cern.ch

Some Useful Web Pages
TvScreen (Systems Status) http://tvscreen.cern.ch
Network Connection Request Form http://network.cern.ch/register
Remote/Mobile Computing http://network.cern.ch/mobile
User-Oriented Catalogue http://cern.ch/consult
User-Oriented Service Directory (*) http://cern.ch/services
FrameMaker Support http://cern.ch/framemaker
Text Processing related documentation http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/asdoc/textproc.html
IT Home Page http://cern.ch/it
User Support http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/support
NICE Home Page http://nicewww.cern.ch/
PC Hardware http://pcwww.cern.ch/
PC Farms Homepage http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/pdp/pc/
UNIX Workstation and X Terminals Support http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/pdp/ose/support.html
CASTOR Query Report http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/htbin/pdp/castor_report.pl
Software Development Tools http://cern.ch/sdt
Computing Support for Engineering http://wwwinfo.cern.ch/ce
Joint Controls Project (LHC Experiments) http://itcowww.cern.ch/ITCO/jcop/
Web Services http://cern.ch/WebServices

(*) Useful service entry points at this page include the Computing Helpdesk, User Registration, Computing Bookshop, Mail, Netscape, Listbox, etc.


Other Newsletters
Computing for Engineering: CERN/IT-CE Computing Support for Engineering Newsletter,
Editor/Distribution L.Pregernig Ludwig.Pregernig@cern.ch
Administrative Information Services: CERN/AS AIS Newsletter
Contact AIS.Newsletter@cern.ch

Seminars and Presentations
Designation Usual Location Organizer(s) Div. Telephone E-mail Address
Computing Colloquia Auditorium / bldg 500 S.Jarp IT 74944 Sverre.Jarp@cern.ch
Computing Seminars IT Auditorium 31/3-005 L.Pregernig IT 72666 Computing.Seminar@cern.ch
Technical Presentations IT Auditorium 31/3-005 S.Cannon IT 75036 Stanley.Cannon@cern.ch
Informatics Tutorials IT Auditorium 31/3-005 M.Marquina IT IT-Training.Service@cern.ch

Computer Resources Allocation and Divisional Contacts

COMPUTER RESOURCES ALLOCATION COMMITTEE (COCOTIME):

Chairman: H.Hoffmann/DG 60/5-006 75458 Hans.Falk.Hoffmann@cern.ch
Secretary: H.Meinhard/EP 1/1-028 76031 Helge.Meinhard@cern.ch

DIVISIONAL REPRESENTATIVES FOR COMPUTING
For questions about new registration and resource allocation please ask the contact person for your division.

Div. Repres. Div. Repres. Div. Repres. Div. Repres. Div. Repres.
AS AT P. Heymans IT A. Koppanyi ETT M. Draper FI C. Saitta
EST Ch. Delamare HR M. Buttner EP A. Bjorkebo PS J. Riche SL M. Bornand
ST E. Sanchez-Corral TH E.Gianolio TIS G.R. Stevenson
NICE Divisional Representatives
See URL: http://nicewww.cern.ch/homepage/nicerepr.htm

DIVISIONAL REPRESENTATIVES FOR NETWORKING
For questions about new installations, testing, local coordination, etc., please ask the contact person for your division (or, if you are an experimental physicist, the networking contact person within your experimental group).
The complete and up-to-date list of contacts is given in the "Communications Systems Group" Home page, at URL: http://network.cern.ch


CERN-CNL-2000-003
Vol. XXXV, issue no 3


Last Updated on Mon Dec 18 13:51:00 GMT+03:30 2000.
Copyright © CERN 2000 -- European Organization for Nuclear Research